Governing Board of Barleyhurst Park Primary School

BARLEYHURST PARA PRIMARY SCHOOL

Chair of Governors: James Armstrong Cert. Ed., BA (Hons), M.Ed., FCIEA.

September 2019

Dear Parents/Carers

On behalf of the Governing Board may I welcome you all as we commence this new school year particularly those of you whose children are starting school for the first time.

The last year was very successful for all year groups but particularly those in KS2 where SATs results were very good. Parents and staff as a partnership make this a good school as was recognised by Ofsted. Your children are being equipped and readied with skills and knowledge for the next stages of their education and personal development. We work together on this and our collaboration is showing results.

My message however **continues to be that "a good school" is not enough** as we could all do more. Barleyhurst Park Primary needs to become an excellent school. As the new term starts let us all increase our ambitions, standards and work - Governors, School Staff, Parents and Pupils- to achieve this.

I meet with the Headteacher roughly every two weeks to discuss many aspects of the school and standards. These include teaching, finance. attendance, activities, visits, staff as well as pupil welfare. I also, as do fellow governors, look at particular aspects of the school through structured visits to classrooms.

My Vice-chair is Claire Davidson, who also is Chair of the Curriculum Committee.

Our other committee, Finance and Standards is chaired by Jo Dyer

Both these governors are elected parent governors so your views and needs are well represented through governors in senior roles. Both governors ask very pertinent questions in holding the Senior Leadership to account to drive up standards.

Last year we did some pen portraits of governors and will repeat this later in the term so you have background on each member of the Governing Board.

Remember that I may be contacted via the school for any issue.

Thank you again for your time

James Armitrany Chair of Governors