Our curriculum is based on collective experiences and the acquisition of skills and concepts. The curriculum is partly about gaining knowledge but it is also about developing a variety of skills and learning to share experiences.

A child's development depends on sustained growth and so our curriculum in the Foundation Stage is based on seven areas of learning. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

There are three prime areas:

Communication and language;
Physical development;
Personal, social and emotional development.

And four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied:

Understanding of the world
Expressive arts and design.

(for more information refer to the 'Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage').
This curriculum is developed further in Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2 through the National Curriculum (2014):

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Art and Design
  • Computing
  • Design and technology
  • Geography
  • History
  • Languages (Italian)
  • Music
  • Physical Education.

Subjects are grouped together which are sympathetic and complement each other in order to make learning experiences more practical and meaningful for the children. This is further enhanced throughout the school year by whole school 'Creative Days' and termly ‘Specialist Weeks.’
We use DfE Letters and Sounds program to promote speaking and listening skills, phonological awareness and oral blending. Click here for more information.

We do not use a singular reading scheme- we provide children with a wide variety of text types including Oxford Reading Tree, Ruth Miskin's Read Write Inc, Collins Big Cat alongside real books.

Please see class pages for more information on curriculum.