Welcome to our Governors' Section

Please find below details of how our Governing Board is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

We have also provided a Register of Governor Interests and an Annual Statement of Issues for your information.

Chair of Governors: Mr J Armstrong

Vice Chair of Governors: Mrs C Davidson

The Governing Board works with the Headteacher and the staff at the school to make sure that the school provides a good quality of education for all of its pupils. Governors work in partnership with the Headteacher to set the strategic direction of the school. Governors are not expected and should not make day to day decisions about how the school is run, that is the role of the Headteacher and senior staff. Governors have three main roles: to provide strategic direction for the school; to act as a critical friend to the Headteacher and to ensure accountability.

A formal meeting is held once a term for the full Governing Board. There are separate committee meetings where smaller groups of governors meet to discuss personnel and finance, environment and the school curriculum.

There are various types of governors drawn from different areas of the community. Our Governing Board is made up as follows:
Name Appointment Term of Office Role Pecuniary Interest
Mrs W Smith Headteacher       None 
Mrs K Ayres Staff Governor 2-9-19         1-9-22          None
Mr J Armstrong Co-opted Governor 13-6-18         15-6-22       Chair None
Mrs C Smith Co-opted Governor 26-9-19
Ms C Thomas Co-opted Governor 16-7-18 15-7-22   Employed by Barleyhurst Park Pre-School
Mrs  Co-opted Governor        
Mrs C Davidson Parent Governor 26-11-18            25-11-22            Vice Chair
Teaching, Learning and Standards Committee Chair
Ms J Dyer Parent Governor 22-6-18 21-6-22 Finance and Staffing Committee Chair None
Vacancy Local Authority Governor